Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra - Photo courtesy of C. Guido Pijper
Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra – Photo courtesy of C. Guido Pijper

Lahav Shani, chief conductor
Emanuel Ax, pianist
March 18, 2020 at 8 p.m.

Knight Concert Hall

“The (roar of approval) that went up Friday night for…the Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra was followed by a man shouting, ‘We love you,’ which reflected the concert’s extraordinary combination of excitement and affection.” – Chicago Tribune

BRAHMS Piano Concerto No. 1 BRAHMS Symphony No. 4

Founded in 1918, the ROTTERDAM PHILHARMONIC ORCHESTRA recently celebrated its 100th anniversary. The orchestra distinguishes itself with its intense energy during performances, its acclaimed recordings and its innovative audience approach, with which it has claimed its own position among Europe’s most foremost orchestras. In the 1970s, with Jean Fournet and Edo de Waart, the orchestra gained international recognition. Valery Gergiev’s appointment heralded a new period of bloom, which continued from 2008 with Yannick Nézet- Séguin; principal conductor until the 2017–2018 season, after which he remains with the orchestra as honorary conductor. LAHAV SHANI made his debut as principal conductor this season. The prodigiously gifted Israeli conductor’s career was launched when he won first prize at the 2013 Gustav Mahler International Conducting Competition in Bamberg. Since then he has quickly established himself as one of the most talked about young conducting talents making a huge impression with his astonishing maturity and natural, instinctive musicality. Born in modern day Lvov, Poland, pianist EMANUEL AX is one of the best-known classical musicians of our time and winner of multiple GRAMMY® Awards for both solo and chamber performances.

The program will offer two masterworks by Brahms, each a cornerstone of the classical repertory. His Piano Concerto No. 1 revealed the precocious 20-year-old flexing his muscles and expanding the form of the concerto challenging the pianist to ecstatic heights. The monumental and noble Symphony No. 4 is Brahms’ last symphony and is often cited as the finest score in the genre, a thrilling manifesto of music’s possibilities.

Season ticket prices for the six-concert KNIGHT MASTERWORKS CLASSICAL MUSIC SERIES range from $280-$870* Subscriptions can be renewed now and new subscriptions can be purchased by phone at (305) 949-6722, online at or in person at the Adrienne Arsht Center Box Office. Priority group seating for 15 or more guests may be arranged by calling the Adrienne Arsht Center at (786) 468-2326.

The 2019-2020 John S. and James L. Knight Masterworks Season Classical Music Series is funded with leadership support from Knight Foundation, with additional support from Crystal Cruises; University of Miami Health System; Sterling Vineyards; Steinway Piano Gallery of Miami; Caring Friends Foundation, Bank of America, N.A., Co-Trustee; and Encore Circle members.


Spread the love!