2-1-1 Broward and BankAtlantic are proud to announce today the nominees for the First Annual BankAtlantic Non-Profit Academy Awards Presented by 2-1-1 Broward. The BankAtlantic Non-Profit Academy Awards Presented by 2-1-1 Broward will honor Broward County’s non-profit organizations and leaders for their dedication and impact on the community.  The awards ceremony and luncheon will take place on Friday, February 25, 2011 at 11:30 a.m. at the Signature Grand in Davie, Florida.

Every non-profit is encouraged to attend and be recognized for their contribution to our community. In addition, awards will be given in six categories. The 2011 BankAtlantic Non-Profit Academy Award categories and nominees are:

Berger Singerman Outstanding Non-Profit Organization of the Year

Nominees: Broward Regional Health Planning Council, Inc., Housing Opportunities Project for Excellence, Inc.

and Women in Distress of Broward County, Inc.

Patriot Risk Management, Inc. Non-Profit Organization of the Year – Innovation:

Nominees: Broward Education Foundation, Broward Health – Kinship Cares Initiative and Gilda’s Club South Florida

Wasie Foundation Non-Profit Organization of the Year – Advocacy:

Nominees: Broward College Foundation, Family Network on Disabilities of Broward County and

Legal Aid Service of Broward, Inc.

Non-Profit Organization of the Year – Rising Star:

Nominees: Abi’s Place, Flipany and The Pantry of Broward, Inc.

Non-Profit Leader of the Year:

Nominees: Robin Martin, The Shepard’s Way; Dr. Patrick Taylor, Holy Cross Hospital and Susan M. Widmayer, Ph.D., Children’s Diagnostic and Treatment Center, Inc.

Non-Profit Board Leader of the Year: Matthew Hoaglund, Autism Society Broward County Chapter;

Steve Pattison, ARC Broward, and Lynne Wines, United Way of Broward County

“This event is a great fit with 2-1-1 Broward’s mission. In the same way  that 2-1-1 serves to connect Broward residents with the health and human service providers who can fulfill their needs, the organization is focused on connecting non-profits to each other and to business and community leaders,”  says Gregory Haile, 2-1-1 Broward board chair, event co-chair and attorney with Berger Singerman.

As an added feature, 2-1-1 Broward has added the “Community Choice Award”.  The finalists were selected from nominations submitted for the BankAtlantic Non-Profit Academy Awards. To voice your choice for the award you can text your vote from your mobile phone or vote online. For voting details, visit www.211-broward.org/cal-news-events.html. The winner of the Community Choice Award will be announced at the event and will receive a cash award for their organization.

In addition to the presentation of the BankAtlantic Non-Profit Academy Awards Presented by 2-1-1- Broward, the awards ceremony will feature Keynote Speaker Robert Danzig, Author and Former Nationwide CEO, Hearst Group,   Lynn Martinez, Emmy Award Winning Anchor of WSVN 7 News & Co-Host of Deco Drive, will serve as emcee for the afternoon.  Marcia Barry-Smith of BankAtlantic and Gregory A. Haile of Berger Singerman are the event co-chairs.  Most of Broward County’s Non-Profit Leaders and Notables will also be in attendance.

The BankAtlantic Non-Profit Academy Awards Presented by 2-1-1 Broward will take place at the Signature Grand (6900 State Road 85 in Davie) on Friday, February 25th with a reception beginning at 11:30 a.m., followed by a luncheon and the awards ceremony from 12:00 Noon to 1:30 p.m. Ticket Prices are $65.00 per person for general admission, $40.00 per person for non-profit organizations and their representatives, and a table of 10 for $600.00.  Sponsorship Opportunities are still available as follows:  Presenting Sponsor(1) – $10,000; Award Naming Sponsor(3) – $7,500; Gold Sponsor – $5,000; Silver Sponsor – $2,500 and Bronze Sponsor – $1,000.  For more information about ticket purchase or sponsorship opportunities, please contact Laurie Sallarulo at 954.390.0493.

Spread the love!