Music Educator Award Semifinalists Announced By The Recording Academy And GRAMMY Museum

WHO:  A total of 25 music teachers from 24 cities across 16 states, have been announced as semifinalists for the Music Educator Award™ presented by the Recording Academy® and GRAMMY Museum®In total, more than 1,989 initial nominations were submitted from all 50 states. Nominations for the 2022 Music Educator Award are now open at

Name       School         City           State
Bonnie Anderson   Miller’s Point Elementary School    San Antonio    Texas
Justin Antos           Dwight D. Eisenhower High School  Frankfort        Ill.
Elizabeth Bennett    Buffalo Grove High School             Libertyville       Ill.
Angela Carpenter    Harrington Elementary School        Bedford          Mass.
Stephen Cox           Eastland High School                      Eastland         Texas
Pamela Dawson       DeSoto High School                      DeSoto            Texas
Brad Drinkwater        Connetquot High School               Nesconset       N.Y.
Paul Eaton                Girard College                               Lafayette Hill    Pa.
Michelle Folta            Columbus State University           Columbus         Ga.
Amanda Hanzlik        Edwin O. Smith High School        Storrs               Conn.
Elizabeth Hering        Churchill High School                    Livonia             Mi.
Graham Johnson      Washington Heights Expeditionary Learning School (WHEELS)                                                                      New York          N.Y.
Chris Maunu              Arvada West High School              Arvada            Colo.
Richard Maxwell       Arcadia High School                        Phoenix           Ariz.
Brian McMath          Northwest Guilford High School      Greensboro      N.C.
Shawna Mendez      The Manning School of Academics and Arts
Lakewood           Colo.
Patricia Moore         Canyon View Elementary School      Tucson            Ariz.
Ryan Muir                South Kingstown High School           Wakefield        R.I.
Jeffrey Murdock      The University of Arkansas               Fayetteville        Ark.
Blake Richter         Nixa Junior High School                     Nixa                   Mo.
Kimberly Ritzer       Green Valley High School                 Henderson         Nev.
Lynne Ruda              Lancaster High School                     Lancaster          N.Y.
Matthew Trevino        Roan Forest Elementary                 San Antonio      Texas
Donald Walter    Northwest Guilford Middle School and Northwest Guilford High School                                                                              Oak Ridge         N.C.
Tracy Williamson      Gorham Middle School                 Gorham               Maine

WHAT:  The Music Educator Award recognizes current educators who have made a significant and lasting contribution to the field of music education and who demonstrate a commitment to the broader cause of maintaining music education in the schools. The recipient will be recognized during GRAMMY® Week 2021.

The award is open to current U.S. music teachers, and anyone can nominate a teacher — students, parents, friends, colleagues, community members, school deans, and administrators.

Teachers are also able to nominate themselves, and nominated teachers are notified and invited to fill out an application.

Each year, one recipient is selected from 10 finalists and recognized for their remarkable impact on students’ lives. They will receive a $10,000 honorarium and matching grant for their school’s music program. The nine additional finalists will receive a $1,000 honorarium and matching grants. The remaining fifteen semifinalists will receive a $500 honorarium with matching school grants.

The matching grants provided to the schools are made possible by the generosity and support of the GRAMMY Museum’s Education Champion Ford Motor Company Fund. In addition, the American Choral Directors Association, National Association for Music Education, NAMM Foundation, and National Education Association support this program through outreach to their constituencies.

The finalists will be announced in December. For more information, please visit

Spread the love!