Riccardo Muti - Photo courtesy of Todd Rosenberg
Riccardo Muti – Photo courtesy of Todd Rosenberg

Riccardo Muti, music director
February 11, 2020, at 8 p.m.
Knight Concert Hall

MENDELSSOHN Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage Overture, Op. 27
HINDEMITH Mathis der Maler
DVORAK Symphony No. 9 (“From the New World”)

“Under music director RICCARDO MUTI, the orchestra gave a concert that is sure to rank with the season’s best – a memorable evening of classics by a virtuoso orchestra before an audience that was clearly absorbed in the performance.” – South Florida Classical Review

Now celebrating its 128th season, the CHICAGO SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA is consistently hailed as one of the world’s leading orchestras. In 2010, renowned Italian conductor RICCARDO MUTI became the CSO’s tenth music director and he will mark his tenth season with the Orchestra in 2019/20. Muti and the Orchestra return to the Arsht Center after a critically acclaimed, sold-out performance in 2019. The CSO’s music director position is endowed in perpetuity by a generous gift from the Zell Family Foundation.

10/16/17 11:32:57 PM Chicago Symphony Orchestra
Riccardo Muti, Music Director
Concert in Costa Mesa
22’ SCHUBERT: Symphony No. 8 in B Minor,
D. 759 (Unfinished)
© Todd Rosenberg 2017

The program opens with Mendelssohn’s Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage Overture. It continues with Hindemith’s intensely personal 1934 Symphony Mathis der Maler, a score that was condemned by the Nazis but embraced by the public. Based on Hindemith’s opera of the same name, Mathis der Maler is Hindemith’s first symphony and remains a glorious statement of the power of art to serve humanity. RICCARDO MUTI and the Orchestra will also perform Dvorak’s Symphony No. 9, “From the New World,” which the Czech composer created shortly after moving in the United States. Dvorak’s impressions of America inspired one of the most accessible and original orchestral works of all time.

Season ticket prices for the six-concert KNIGHT MASTERWORKS CLASSICAL MUSIC SERIES range from $280-$870* Subscriptions can be renewed now and new subscriptions can be purchased by phone at (305) 949-6722, online at or in person at the Adrienne Arsht Center Box Office. Priority group seating for 15 or more guests may be arranged by calling the Adrienne Arsht Center at (786) 468-2326.

The 2019-2020 John S. and James L. Knight Masterworks Season Classical Music Series is funded with leadership support from Knight Foundation, with additional support from Crystal Cruises; University of Miami Health System; Sterling Vineyards; Steinway Piano Gallery of Miami; Caring Friends Foundation, Bank of America, N.A., Co-Trustee; and Encore Circle members.


Spread the love!